New year, new beginnings… I guess

Wow, you guys, this momma is soooo tired and worn out. I wish I could write this super inspiering post about what I want for 2017 and how this is going to be a fantatic year etc. etc. But to be completely honest, my year started off kind of shitty. Nothing really bad happened. It’s just that 2016 really wore my out and I feel so totally lost right now. So I’m sitting here thinking that I really need to find my way back to myself. But I’m not really sure I know the way anymore. 

It seems like everything around me last year was draining me of energy – my work, the house, my daughter and my husband. Don’t get me wrong, I love all of those things and I have everything I ever dreamt of. It’s just that I didn’t allow myself to fuel up. I just kept on going on empty. And that is not making me a happy mom, wife or co-worker. That makes me bitter and resentful and I haven’t been able to enjoy what matters most to me. 

So even though I’m tired as hell, I still have to find a way to fuel up on energy before I run on empty. Any tips? 

This is me this morning. Forgot half of my make up and I haven’t washed my hair for four days. That called for some take away coffee. 

4 comments

  1. It sounds like you’re suffering from what I call “Mom of a toddler” syndrome. It’s tough, but when my first son was born, my kid’s pediatrician told me that it was essential that I find time for myself, even if it’s 10 min every day. He also said that my husband and I need to find time for us as a couple at least once a week – meaning try to go out for dinner or even just for a walk without kids. This wasn’t always easy as I couldn’t always get a sitter and my mother-in-law wasn’t always available but one thing I did do was I set a strict bed time for my kids. They were in bed no later than 8 and often earlier. This kept me sane. I knew I would have ‘me time’ from 8 at night until I went to bed (usually by 11 or so). I was able to do my nails, workout, get extra projects done, read, sit and do nothing if I wanted – basically having the kids in their own beds by 8 kept me from feeling totally drained.

    I don’t know if this helps and Sally may already be doing this, but if not – it’s worth a try. The boys would usually sleep from 8 – 6:30 or so and we’d all wake up ready to tackle a new day. 🙂

    Hang in there – put yourself first once in a while…….it really can help you make it through the day.
    Hugs to you!! ❤

    1. Laurel, I think you’re absolutely right. Thank you for the tips. I will really try those out. Most nights Sally is in bed by 7:30, but I think that we can be a lot stricter on that, because sometimes she’s up until 8 or even 8:30 and it’s not good for her. She needs her sleep too. I really need to find some time for me and some time for me and my husband. Usually we actually have the time, we just don’t take it. Instead we’re in each end of the couch with our phones in our hands. Horrible I know. We will change that immediately! Lot’s of hugs to you and thank you for the support.

      1. Even now that my kids are grown, I’ve found that Ken and I both have to regroup at times and be sure to make time for ‘us’. We don’t use our phones when eating, if we’re watching a movie (at home) or tv show, we limit phone use…….social media will always be there but that moment to share something, however small, with our kids, friends or significant others, is fleeting. Knowing you’re needing to make a change is one big step in the right direction!

  2. You need things to look forward to and maybe get away, small trips, you could come to Lisch for a weekend perhaps?! You also need to spend time with Modou and get a babysitter every now and then! You’re always welcome to stay with me, keep that in mind! You need to fuel up somehow! Hugs!

Leave a comment